Trail cams, what's your experience, best to worst?

I’ve been using trail cams for about 15 years. I’ve probably used at least 10 different brands. I’ve only used two cellular and have had multi issues with both of them. I’d like to hear about your experience with different cams. My two cellular brands have been Moultrie 6000 , Spypoint micro link, and Spypoint cell link. The last one is supposed to convert any cam to a cell cam within a limited capacity .

4 Likes

Ive allways had the best luck out of the cheaper game cams. The pics aint as good as the newer pricer stuff. But ive got more seasons out of the simpler cheaper options then any of the fancier options ive tryed. Then if they do get water or snow or anything in them to ruin them i fill better about tossing 70 80 bucks compared to thorwing away 200 or more bucks. I deffently see an advantage though to the new linked style cams so you dont have tromp through the woods everytime you want check pics. There is so many options now days its tough call.

4 Likes

I recently bought a trail cam, set it up in back yard to be sure it worked, night vision as well. Also to get a sense of the best way to set it up.

No. 1 thing I will do different, not set it up where coniferous branches are in front of it. I got 800+ photos of the branch every time it moved. I need to check if there is a movement sensor adjustment for that.

Otherwise nothing more to report.

6 Likes

'Not set it up in front of the coniferous branches"