M*CARBO Brotherhood

Tactical Notch rear - front sight re-adjustment

Went to range to today to adjust front sight for new Notch sight. I raised the front sight almost to its limits, and at 25 yards, the top of the front sight is barely visible at the bottom of the notch (sight picture) to hit target zero. I am afraid to adjust the front sight anymore … it seems loose now. Is this normal?

2 Likes

@k8cttwelcome to the forum rick

1 Like

Thank you!I have several questions about the SUB2000, so I thought that I would give it a try.

2 Likes

What kind of rifle? A loose sight post is NOT usual or a good thing.

3 Likes

SUB 2000 Gen2 40 S&W
Its loose because it has been backed out so far to adjust for Tactical Notch (sits high)

2 Likes

Aftermarket notch sight? I don’t have one so I’m not an expert, but it doesn’t sound like it’s suited to your firearm if you can’t raise the front sight enough to zero it correctly. That front sight post needs to be solid or POI will be all over the place.

2 Likes

It’s Mcarbo notch tactical rear sight. It’s obviously too tall and factory front sight can NOT compensate without changing sight picture drastically

2 Likes

You might want to contact MCARBO and ask them for advice.

1 Like

The advice on this one is: taller front sight post. It’ll take any AR15 front post.

I’ve only shouldered 1 s2k with the notch sight. Owner of that’n had it zero’d with post half way up the notch. It’s the tallest iron sight option available and can take a little stretching on the front post to work.

2 Likes

I called tech support and the verified your information. However, I have an old A-2 front sight and its post height is the same as the Tel Tec.

1 Like

@k8ctt Like @Dred posted.

KNS makes a .040" taller AR type sight. www.knsprecisioninc.com

3 Likes

Thank you sir!
Looking at it now …

1 Like