M*CARBO Brotherhood

Restless Leg & Idle Hands

Some of you may know that I’m pretty crafty when I see crafty I mean I was a engineering turned architectural student and recreational inventor and master of repurposing and recycling materials. I’m also so broke I can’t pay attention and suffer from a horrible disease called boredom. Yes folks boredom is a disease and sadly the only cure for it is finding something to do with your time, idle hands and all.

Today’s project is repurposing a carbon/graphite Cervélo PC3 time trials seatpost Into a cheek rest for my SBR using only what I had laying around the garage.

Tools:
-Ryobi bandsaw
-Dremel + cut off disks + drill bits + sanding drums + shaping bits and stones
-Pliers
-Allen wrench

Supplies:
-Seatpost from a wrecked Cervélo P3C time trial bicycle
-small section approximately 2 1/4 inches long of Picatinny rail off of my wrecked dirtbike
-30 mm scope rings that came with the scope on my rifle
-vaseline
-Baking flour
-wire sieve for thinly spreading flour
-roll of 1.5” wide blue painters tape
-standard size Sharpie Marker
-Q-Tips
-rubbing alcohol
-various grades of sandpaper/Emory cloth ranging from 350<1000/1200 grit.

I would like to also note that at no time in the construction of this project did I use any sort of measuring device, this was all done by hand and eyeballing it.

Just a brief note the seat post came from a bicycle that one of my former customers left on the roof of his car after competition he pulled into his garage forgetting it was there the only thing that survive with the seat post in the saddle saddle is on my bicycle the seatpost is now serving a new function as a cheek rest.

I’d like to make a cautionary note to everybody if you are cutting carbon fiber or graphite with a rotary tool where I protection and a dust mask you do not want the stuff in your lungs it’s horrible stuff.