M*CARBO Brotherhood

Remington 870P vs. Mossberg 590A1

Hi all! I decided over this snowy and frigid weekend that it was a good time for a scattergun shoot-off between two heavyweight contenders in the defensive shotgun genre (yes, my timing could have been better!). I broke this one down into two parts. Part-1 is a comparison between the two shotguns in the shop, and Part-2 is the range review. I hope you enjoy it! (Hopefully I’ll be able to get my hands on a KSG sometime soon and compare it to these two traditional shotguns!)

Howard

hrfunk (Howard)

Thanks for the great videos.

I prefer the Rem 870 (too).

Rem 870 was THE Law Enforcement shotgun for many years. More 870’s sold than any other shotgun in history. Used one on the job for many years, until they were replaced by Benelli semi-autos. Have an 870 tactical I put together a couple years ago. Great gun that I have a lot of experience and confidence in. But, I always preferred the placement of the safety on the Mossberg over the Rem. Mossberg also made a very high quality gun at a very affordable price. Wouldn’t have any problems carrying one of those too.

@hrfunk Good morning Howard. Very nice work on both videos.:+1:

I am no doubt bias, as I am an 870 man through and through, but just as you I have given other guns a fair and open minded chance to show their stuff under the same conditions and circumstances I use mine in.
My experience, coming from a hunting perspective (birds, deer, and predators) is with the standard 870 vs a tac/defense model, but I have shot both.
One of the biggest issues for me, in regard to overall comfort and smooth shoot-ability, is the safety and action release position. Every other shotgun I have shot, whether the safety is on top or in front of the trigger, felt uncomfortable and unwieldy.
I have found the top, forward sliding safety to be stiff (especially in cold and wet conditions) and lacking a solid surface and profile to insure a positive release.