Optic Mount Scope

Like you all I’ve been patiently been waiting for the foldable optic mount I’ve been considering a 3 x magnification red dot Or Scout scope to help with a longer shots hoping rail will fit my idea

1 Like

I’m not sure what you are doing (e.g., the platform/optic/mount/rifle/pistol) but since you mention a scout scope and red dot, here is some information. I’m taking about rifles; No so much pistol–if you’re doing a pistol just carry on.

On scout scopes I have some experience because I take the C&R milsurp rifles, and even the old WIN saddle ring carbines, remove the rear sights, put them in the safe, and install weaver scout scope mounts (e.g., look at BadAceTactical for the milsurps). On the SKS I’m working on now, I’ve done the same thing with a red dot. It’s also not clear at what distance you’re going to be shooting. If it’s a rifle of some sort, I’m addressing a situation where you want to go out to 100 yards or further.

On the scout scopes, which are Long Eye Relief (LER) scopes, there is generally a maximum of 9x power available, and most of these marketed at 9x are actually about 6-7X. It doesn’t matter whether you’re talking about a Vortex, NightForce, LEU, or other name brand. They generally don’t have adequate parallax (the reason why would involve a massive optics discussion), so, your head/eye positioning and distance from rear ocular is critical for consistency. It’s impossible to get small groups with a scout scope if you plan to run and gun because your head is all over the place. Steel plinking sure, accuracy no… AIM sports makes one LER that clocks in at what looks to be close to 12x, so, that one will get you into the 100 yard area if you’re target shooting or doing groups on 3" stick on spots or smaller. At 250 you’re tossing the dice on that same target.