M*CARBO Brotherhood

New Sub 2K Owner

All Things SUB-2000!
I hear varying suggestions on the perfect ammo for range and for defense what would any of you recommend? As a reference I am new to gun ownership as a whole. I’d like to be able to use the same ammo between my EDC “Ruger LC9s” any suggestions would be great

10 Likes

I use Winchester white box or federal black box at the range and for EDC I use either Hornady critical duty or Winchester ranger. I would recommend Hornady critical duty in the S2K though for home defense.

8 Likes

The Winchester is that 115 G? Metal jacket? Is it true that Kel Tec recommends the brass as opposed to metal?

4 Likes

I use Hornady Critical Duty in all my fire arms for self defense. For the shooting range Federal ammo.

8 Likes

@Johnny2k Welcome to the Brotherhood.

You can use the same ammo for the range and EDC , but keep in mind that the ammo most people use for personnel defense tends to be more expensive . I use Blazer Brass 115 gr for practice and Hornady 115 gr critical defense for EDC in my LC9s Pro. I find that the S2K will run just about any ammo I feed it.

9 Likes

Yeah Winchester white box is standard 115 grain ball ammo. Brass case. Most manufacturers don’t recommend running steel or aluminum case. I only run brass because I reload and so I can reuse it.

6 Likes

Essentially what this guy said. :slightly_smiling_face:

I run a mix of 115 gr and 124 gr Blazer Brass (usually the 115 unless there’s a deal on the 124) and use both the Critical Defense and Critical Duty for home defense in my PCCs, no issues of any kind. No EDC here as I work from home…though I suppose that makes all my guns EDC, eh? I don’t shoot anything but brass cased in any of my firearms.

7 Likes