M*CARBO Brotherhood

MCARBO Toolbox Safari

Figure it would be interesting, to see what people are working with as far as gunsmithing tools.

Here’s mine, I’m primarily an AR/Glock builder. Mostly stuff for me, but I do some paid work. This dedicated gunsmithing toolbox (was my grandfather’s work toolbox when he worked at Sikorsky Helicopters) is in addition to the more general purpose/auto mechanic boxes out in the garage.

Top is currently mostly allen/torx keys and pliers at the moment. At some point I want to move most of the pliers down a few drawers and move some more commonly used stuff up.

Drawer 1 currently is mainly barrel nut tools. I need to move all the barrel shims down to one of the ammo cans of small parts to free up some space.

Drawer 2 most important stuff here is the barrel dimpling jig and AR pivot pin tool (makes installing the pins very easy, eliminates launching the spring and detent into another dimension)

Drawer 3, hammers and stuff

17 Likes

@Chris19d Like the LC2 gear too.

8 Likes

I’m a big fan of belt style loadbearing equipment, and LC2 is a solid cheep option. One of my goals for this year is to have 4 or 5 spare sets of LBE to go with extra rifles I have for arming friends in an emergency.

10 Likes

My gunsmithing tools are currently living in a couple shaving kit and zipper bags. Sad. With a dozen different boxes from roll arounds to a gang box, you’d think they’d have a proper home. There’s an engineers box that will one day house my GS tools, just have to re-arrange the tools living there now to make room.

Gotta love those ball end Allen keys. My personal preference is for individual screw drivers, custom ground to fit precisely over the 8 in 1 or loose bit 1/4" drive sets. Several pull double duty as well, hammers, punches, vices to name a few. The bulk of are geared towards AR building, supplemented with enough general purpose to get by.

9 Likes