M*CARBO Brotherhood

Magazines Part 2: Big Bore

My experience is limited. I’m still learning what works and what hasn’t yet.
Standard mags will work. Somewhat. I’ve had issues on the last round.
The damned bullets are so big, they just go where they are meant to.

Proper followers are the best solution I’ve found for flawless feeding.
The price per magazine really goes up with each part you have to add.
For example, Lancer L5AWM with Tromix followers, about $40 each.
Then add the +6 floor plates to increase capacity, another $25 each.

I found a cheaper fix for PMags, basically just grinding down the follower.
Making it flat, so the last round isn’t being pushed to one side.

These seem to work fine, but you may need to remove the front rib.
I only had to remove the little stop at the top to run flat nose 450 BM.

There’s plenty of info about how to modify PMags, so I won’t go deeper into that.

This morning as I was organizing my mags, I may have discovered the best trick yet.
I grabbed one of my 10 round IFC .410 mags and loaded it down with .450 BM rounds.
These are by far the easiest mags to load and hold 10 rounds, actually 11 rounds.
I have not tested these to see if they feed and cycle yet. I’m gonna try later today.

I also want to see if the followers will fit in PMags. But I don’t want to get ahead of myself.
I’ll post back with my results. And if anyone has better methods, please share.

9 Likes

Bummer, the .410 mags don’t feed at all. Still want to try the followers in PMags.

7 Likes

@ValorSolo How will you identify them for caliber? I’d be likely to grab my .223/5.56 mags when heading out the door with, say .300 Hamer carbine. (maybe a bad example, but you get the idea)

7 Likes