M*CARBO Brotherhood

I got bored,and thinking too much

Looking at some other Sub 2k recoil pad threads got me thinking. Since I’m a fabricator by trade,I figured I could go outside the box on this.
The butt stock needs to be flat in order to mount a recoil pad correctly,so it needs to be modified. It also needs to be lengthened a little to clear the front sight when folding the gun in half.

I chose a Kick-EEZ recoil pad for a couple reasons. The base is pretty thick,so you have plenty of material to run screws into it. And, The pad is solid,and doesn’t have any internal voids,so you can grind it to whatever shape you want,and still have a solid recoil pad.

I sanded the butt stock and then cleaned it with a degreaser. Then I took painter’s tape and made a raised form around the rear of the butt stock,about 1/4" higher than the edge of the stock. I then mixed up some epoxy,and filled in the form.

I let the epoxy cure for about an hour and started removing the tape,but decided to let it cure over night before I finish removing it. Once I remove the rest of the tape,I’ll sand it completely flat on my belt sander,and then mark the recoil pad,and then grind it to the size & shape that I want.
Once I fit it,I’ll drill 4 holes in the but stock,and mount the pad on it.
More pictures will come tomorrow on my progress.

21 Likes

At least with that much thickness you can drill and tap into the epoxy instead of using nuts and bolts straight through.

7 Likes

Stir crazy you are. :upside_down_face: Looking forward to seeing the finished project.

6 Likes

I removed the rest of the tape,then used a file to smooth out the edges. Next,I used my belt sander to make sure the surface was flat.

Once that was done,I marked the recoil pad so I could grind it into the shape of the butt stock.

That was a nasty,messy job shaping the recoil pad with my belt sander. But,It turned out pretty good even if it left a great big mess in my shop.