Greetings. A little history and a question

Good day all,

I am a Disabled vet with multiple scilrosis, my symptoms mirror many other gulf war vets. I got out 1991 after serving 8 years.

Over the past 30 years since I got out of the military I never felt the need to pick up any firearms, I don’t hunt and never felt unsafe at home. That was until Russia started a war and our government wants to disarm law abiding citizens. Now we have angry Chinise dictators as well.

I first picked up a 22lr keltek pistol and a S&W mp 15 22lr to see if i can still hit the broad side of a barn.

Well the MS sometimes makes my hands shake and wanting a weapon for home protection I went a head and purchased a sub-2000 9mm with a red dot and a tactical flashlight.

The Red dot anoyed me that i couldn’t fold it. After searching i found my way here.

I have purchased and installed several upgrades to the sub-2000 and was thinking about the trigger intenals. The weapon smith at the shop i purchased it from said it would be extreemly expensive for him to put it in cause it is so complicated.

I looked at the videos here and it doesn’t look that hard to me.

I guess the question would be is the guy exaggerating and should i do it myself?

8 Likes

Welcome aboard.

Sounds a bit like he doesn’t want your business. From my observations here, it’s not terribly hard, some basic mechanical skills and the right tools will go a long way for you. There are many here that have gone down this road and are willing to help if you hit a SNAFU, just ask for any help and they’ll be glad to assist.

5 Likes

To me it seemed like he just didn’t want to bother with it. I purchased it from him so i figured he wouldn’t find it challenging to work on. I live in a neiborhood between cities and his store/indoor range is litterally 1/2 mile from my front door.