M*CARBO Brotherhood

Good Over Under Shotguns that will not break the bank

I have been considering getting back into clay pigeon and possibly trap shooting. I have always liked the over under shotguns, but do not want to spend a fortune. Some of the Turkish made shotguns look good, but not sure of their performance and durability. Any good suggestions?

6 Likes

@em44052 i have a lamber over under i find ok not the most expensive gun

6 Likes

@em44052 How Fun for You :+1: I’ve got a Old Ruger Over&Under it Works,I Still Miss my ‘‘Silver Snipe’’

7 Likes

I am a qualified CPSA instructor here in the UK ( Google it, CPSA not me lol), i will however say what ever suits your budget, and as long as it goes bang, ( just make sure which ever you choose is fitted correctly for you ( yes it makes a difference) other wise it may go bang but you will not hit much) just saying.

5 Likes

I would also recommend if you are taking up Clay shooting get some initial professional instruction as bad habits will happen and you will then find it difficult to hit the clays.

6 Likes

Hi John, Any suggestions on how to choose a shotgun that correctly fits? Is it different from picking a rifle?

@John025 I used to be pretty good at clay shooting and trap. I knew a member at a skeet and trap club and went quite often. That has been a while and would need to basically start over I believe.

5 Likes

Nothing wrong with a lesson to refresh the brain, yes it costs but if you have a good instructor they will set you on the right path to smash those clays, also shoot those disciplines your bad at, it will improve you over all and get you out of your comfort zone, only way you will learn.

5 Likes