M*CARBO Brotherhood

Cleaning/Oiling A Marlin M60

I will have types of questions so bear with me. I am new to guns but do want to do whats right and take care of what I have. I just got in my two recoil springs for my marling m60, as the one in there is bent kinda S shaped half way down. I have watched mcarbo vid on the trigger spring kit, I noticed he didn’t oil anything just added grease to (bear with me) the sear? the part that catches the hammer and the hammer post. What I want to know is what do I need to oil in the marling model 60? I have read don’t oil anything in it as it just adds to crud that builds up.

But my line of thinking and has been on the years metal on metal contact creates uneeded wear it needs oil to reduce wear and friction. My main concern on the bolt, I can see where its been rubbing in the receiver nd wonder if it will eventually rub through. Do I need to lube the bolt? I know mine needs a good scubbing it has some staining and very slight what looks like rust.

I have 4 gun forums I have been reading on, and in one they said can use carb cleaner to clean the parts with, just be careful of plastic parts, can also use brake cleaner. That just seems like a to harsh a cleaner to use on parts in a gun and is made for that cleaning carbs.

I have a gun cleaning kit, but was my inlaws and looks old, it is a hoppes kit, does have bore cleaner and lube. I just want to do this right and do it right everytime I clean it. I want it last, and be reliable.

1 Like
5 Likes

I’ve got a warning and good news. Warning … this is a rabbit hole. Good news … there are many ways to accomplish the quoted goal.