M*CARBO Brotherhood

Chassis to charger conversion

Hi everyone, I have been looking at my PC carbine chassis and it seems to have the same receiver bracket as the PC Charger - it just has the Magpul stock attached.

Is it possible to somehow order a charger barrel /hand guard assembly, remove the Magpul stock and have a PC Charger? See picture below.

Interested in what others think - would love to order a charger barrel / hand guard and swap in an SB tactical folding stock.

Norm

2 Likes

That would be very illegal in the US. We can make pistols into rifles and back into pistols. We cannot make rifles into Pistols.

You can accomplish your objective and swap on the Charger barrel by filing a Form 1 and paying $200 Tax to create a Short Barreled Rifle (SBR).

I’m not a lawyer but I don’t want you in trouble.

3 Likes

No, I don’t want to do anything that is not allowed - I thought if you changed the barrel it would no longer be a long gun but rather a pistol like the charger - but I’m not a lawyer either so I guess it is not a good idea :frowning:

1 Like

@Norm … trust me. It’s a great idea.

The part that I don’t understand is - is my gun (PC Carbine Chassis model) a rifle because that is how it is registered or is it a rifle because of its configuration?

I figured (in my head) the configuration determined the type of weapon it is - so (again in my head) removing the stock and swapping the shorter barrel on would make it identical to a PC Charger.

Seems like you could have two guns for the cost of a barrel / hand guard - but not something I would ever do if it was illegal.

I’m not sure where you are located. Irregardless of registration details in your location, the 4473 background thing identified it as a rifle. That is what NiCS authorized the FFL to release to the original purchaser.