M*CARBO Brotherhood

Bullet casting?

Anyone here pour their own?

I’m about to pull the trigger on a 6.8spc pistol barrel with a 1:7 twist for shooting heavy subs. Problem is, only Bullets available come from Australia. I found a guy that will make a custom bullet mold for me, but I’ve never done casting before. I’m planning on using the lee sizer, no gas checks, and powder coating the bullets.

Looking for info. Good furnace, mold material (aluminum, brass or iron). Is reclaimed Range lead good to use? Any other suggestions?

5 Likes

Check out the guys at castboolits.gunloads.com

I’ve been casting many years and started out with a cast iron frying pan on an old turkey fryer burner. It was simple & crude but it worked. I later went to a LEE smelter and now use three by LEE. Two are bottom pour and the other is for dipping.

As far as molds go, I haven’t found any that didn’t work. I own several steel molds by RCBS & NOE and several aluminum ones by LEE. All work great.

Check out the forums on MEWE. Yesterday I saw someone selling a lot of 6.8spc stuff.
Here’s the ad I saw

2 Likes

Thanks, I’ve been reading on that forum as well. Just a lot of conflicting info out there. I was planning on a lee pot, a brass mold from accurate molds, lee sizer die, and powder coating them.

I’m actually thinking of getting 2 molds and making one set into hp. Can’t be that hard and what they charge to modify the molds is crazy. The one company I saw that makes hp molds in Europe will not answer my emails. I hate to screw up a $100 mold but I think I can figure it out.

Never heard of MEWE. Unless he had some casting stuff. I’m set on projectiles. Only reason to cast is for the subsonics.

2 Likes

Have you investigated getting a custom mold from LEE? A while back a buddy got one from them. I believe it cost under $200 then but probably more today.
I have 26 Lee molds and all but one cast bullets that do not need sizing. I do size bullets after powder coating if I apply two coats.