Ar9 pistol vs Sub 2000

I see that Palmetto has an AR 9mm that takes Glock mags on a Labor Day sale. I’m thinking of selling the Sub 2000 to get that instead. But I have zero experience with the AR platform. So I’m looking for Pros and Cons here. It has a 8 inch barrel so I’m thinking it would be bigger than a folded Sub, but not terribly so. Any thoughts appreciated.

I also don’t want to get booted out of the brotherhood since I won’t have any other Mcarbo parts if I spring on this.

7 Likes

If it’s an AR9 platform (lower) the Mcarbo hammer spring will fit and function fine.

5 Likes

Yea, I can stay!

3 Likes

This is kind of what I’m looking at. Also want to jump before any kind of ban.

https://palmettostatearmory.com/blem-psa-8-9mm-1-10-7-lightweight-m-lok-moe-sba3-pistol.html

3 Likes

Looks good to me.

Sounds like a good plan with the second part of your post :+1:t2:

4 Likes

If your not completely satisfied with your sub 2000 go for it, I did. a 7- 8 inch barrel is perfect in my opinion.

2 Likes

I have zero experience with an AR 9 but it will be my next build. I have to say the sun 2000 is a fun gun but I would trust an ar platform gun for defense a lot more.

2 Likes

Blowback AR’s are touchy. Part of the unlocking resistance comes from hammer geometry and spring. Not saying not to mess with it, but I would do some break in and testing before changing any parts.

6 Likes

Had the same thought process awhile back and sold my Sub2000. It was a fun gun but never had the confidence in it to use it for personal defense or for the protective work I often do. I got a CMMG Banshee AR pistol, 8 in barrel in 40 cal. Takes Glock 22 rd mags. No plastic parts and I have every confidence in this one.

8 Likes

Does that have the radial type delay BCG?

1 Like

@Dane