M*CARBO Brotherhood

A nod to great teachers we've had and how they influenced us

All of us had teachers that deserve a note of recognition because they were a grade above average, went the extra mile, and had a lasting influence on us in some way.
Who were yours and why.

7 Likes

@chilipepper That’s funny. I hated those assignments too.
I had all those classes. American and British Literature, Creative Writing, Speech. At the time they just didn’t catch my creative string for some reason.
I’m good at poetry once in a while but as it turns out now, in later years, I’m a really good writer

I did enjoy British Lit. however. That no doubt has much to do with my teacher Mrs. Barry.
She was a teacher that was passionate about what she taught. And she was just as passionate about her students. It wasn’t that they only got answers right on a test to get good grades. (Americans are a bunch of test takers)
She took time one on one, to see that they did well and learned for the sake of being a more enlightened and worldly person.

6 Likes

Same here, well better than I was anyway.

It started for me at community college, I had a composition and technical writing instructor who opened my eyes to the importance of writing well, regardless of chosen profession. I didn’t really like her or the class at first but the truth is her tuition did improve my writing skills immensely and looking back I’m glad I had the course.

The impact of it didn’t really hit home till many years later when I transitioned to a desk job. Now I probably write better than I speak, though this may be down to the fact that I work remotely and have little face to face human contact as a result. Writing is the primary form of communication with my coworkers, employer as well as customers, so composition and clarity are paramount. She gave me the tools and direction to improve myself and I’ve been thankful for that many times since.